Trial Court of Massachusetts

The Trial Court of Massachusetts had 3 facilities located in different parts of Boston and Cambridge, MA. Dark fiber between the sites was not and option and leasing high capacity (100Mbps) circuits was too costly.

They chose to implement a pair of free space optic (FSO) links in part due to the low cost to implement and secure nature of the communications.

FYI – The Massachusetts Trial Court was created by Chapter 478 of the Acts of 1978. Before that time, all trial courts in the Commonwealth, (except the Land Court that was a state court), were county or local courts funded through the counties. The 1978 statute reorganized the courts into seven Trial Court Departments: the Boston Municipal Court, the District Court, the Housing Court, the Juvenile Court, the Probate and Family Court and the Superior Court, as well as the Land Court.